MINUTES

LAS VEGAS-CLARK COUNTY LIBRARY DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES' NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING LAS VEGAS, NEVADA

JUNE 10, 2021

(Approved July 8, 2021)

The Board of Trustees of the Las Vegas-Clark County Library District met in regular session in the East Las Vegas Library, Las Vegas, Nevada, at 5:00 p.m., Thursday, June 10, 2021.

Present:Board:F. Ortiz, ChairN. WaughS. RamakerB. Wilson

J. Jiron

Counsel: G. Welt (WebEx)

Absent:

Staff: Kelvin Watson, Executive Director

Numerous Staff

Guests:

F. Ortiz, Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:03 p.m.

Roll Call (Item I.) All members listed above represent a quorum. Appendix A.

Public Comment (Item II.)

Trustee Waugh stated that he had an interest in pursuing the Office of Treasurer. Also stated that he wanted to grow and learn within the District and the Board.

Agenda (Item III.) Trustee Wilson moved to approve the Agenda as proposed. There was no opposition and the motion carried.

New Business (Item IV.) Discussion and possible Committee action regarding proposed nominations of Trustees to serve as Chair, Vice Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary for Fiscal Year 2021-2022 to be presented at the Board's June 10, 2021 meeting.

- Trustee Wilson declared his intention to run for Chair and asked Counsel Welt if there was conflict of interest because he was also a member of the Nominating Committee. Counsel Welt responded that there was no conflict.
- Chair Ortiz asked Committee members if there were any questions, there were none. Chair Ortiz then explained the nominating process.
- Chair Ortiz asked if only the Chair can serve two terms. Counsel Welt clarified that a Board member cannot be elected to any office more than two consecutive terms.
- Chair Ortiz moved to nominate Trustee Foyt for Board Secretary. There was no opposition and the nomination was accepted.
- Chair Ortiz acknowledged that Trustee Waugh asked to be nominated for Treasurer and moved to nominate Trustee Dr. Rogers for Treasurer. Trustee Wilson asked for discussion and

stated that Trustee Dr. Rogers withdrew his request to be Treasurer. Chair Ortiz stated that the Board would need to hear from Trustee Dr. Rogers directly regarding his withdrawal. Nomination for Trustee Dr. Rogers was not accepted - votes were 2 for yes, Chair Ortiz and Trustee Ramaker and one no, Trustee Wilson.

- Chair Ortiz nominated Trustee Wilson for Vice Chair and Trustee Wilson declined. Chair Ortiz asked Trustee Ramaker if she wanted to nominate anyone else for Vice Chair. Trustee Ramaker stated she wanted to wait for the Regular Board meeting to do so. Trustee Wilson recommended Trustee Benavidez for Vice Chair and moved to nominate Trustee Benavidez for Vice Chair. Nomination was not accepted votes were one yes by Trustee Wilson and two no's by Trustee Ramaker and Chair Ortiz. Chair Ortiz stated that during the next Trustee meeting he will ask if anyone else would like to be nominated for Vice Chair.
- Trustee Waugh asked to be nominated for Vice Chair. Trustee
 Wilson reminded the committee that a person can only run for
 one position at a time in the same year. Trustee Waugh
 withdrew his request to be nominated for Vice Chair.
- Chair Ortiz reiterated that the Nominating Committee chose to nominate Trustee Ramaker for Chair, Trustee Dr. Rogers for Treasurer unless he declines at the next Board meeting, and Elizabeth Foyt for Secretary. Vice Chair position remains an open seat.
- Chair Ortiz asked the Committee members if they had any questions; there were no questions.

Public Comment (Item V.)

None

Adjournment (Item V.)

Chair Ortiz adjourned the meeting at 5:18 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kelly Benavidez, Secretary

2021 ATTENDANCE

June 10, 2021 Special Board Meeting

Appendix A

Benavidez Kelly P <		2021	January 8 Special Board Mtg	January 21 Regular Board Mtg	February 18 Regular Board Mtg	March 11 Regular Board Mtg	March 23 Emergency Brd Mtg	April 8 Finance and Audit	April 8 Regular Board Mtg	May 20 Regular Board Mtg	June 5 Special Board Mtg	June 10 Risk Management Cmt	June 10 Nominating Cmte Mtg	June 10 Special Board Mtg	
Francis Drake*** Marilyn P	Benavidez	Kelly	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р			A-E	
Foyt Elizabeth P <t< td=""><td>Bilbray-Axelrod*</td><td>Shannon</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Χ</td><td>Χ</td><td>Χ</td><td>Χ</td><td>Χ</td><td>Χ</td><td>Χ</td><td>Χ</td><td>Χ</td><td></td></t<>	Bilbray-Axelrod*	Shannon	Р	Р	Р	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	
Meléndrez José P P P P A-E A-E A-E P	Francis Drake***	Marilyn	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	
Ortiz Felipe P	Foyt	Elizabeth	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	A-E		A-E	
Wadley-Munier*** Robin P	Meléndrez	José	Р	Р	Р	Р	A-E	A-E	A-E	Р	Р			A-E	
Ramaker Sandra P <t< td=""><td>Ortiz</td><td>Felipe</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td></td></t<>	Ortiz	Felipe	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	
Wilson Brian P P P P A-E A-E P	Wadley-Munier***	Robin	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	
Rogers Keith A-E P <t< td=""><td>Ramaker</td><td>Sandra</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td>Р</td><td></td></t<>	Ramaker	Sandra	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	
Waugh** Nathaniel X X X P	Wilson	Brian	Р	Р	Р	Р	A-E	A-E	A-E	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	
Jiron**** Jennifer X X X X X X X P P P P P	-	Keith	A-E	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р				Р	
		Nathaniel	Χ	Χ	Χ		Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	
Turner Whiteley**** Kate X X X X X X P P P P	Jiron****	Jennifer	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Р	Р	Р	Р	Р	
	Turner Whiteley****	Kate	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ	Р	Р			Р	

attended Committee meeting but not a member

A-E Excused Absence
A-U Unexcused Absence

as of June 11, 2021

^{*}Shannon Bilbray-Axelrod's term expired March 1, 2021

^{**}Nathaniel Waugh was appointed March 2, 2021

^{***} Term expired April 18, 2021

^{****} Appointed to term beginning April 19, 2021